| Ann Arbor | Washtenaw | up to $44,100 for 1 person, $62,950 for 4 (city limit above federal poverty level) | assets up to $50,000, not counting the home and your usual car | 100% up to the federal poverty level ($15,650), then 75%, 50% or 25% as income rises | 2026: return by March 13, July 17 or December 14 |
|---|
| Canton Township | Wayne | 100% of federal poverty guidelines ($15,650 for 1 person) | all assets up to the poverty-guideline amount for your household size; bank and investment accounts up to your projected 2026 taxes plus 50% | 50% | file before the day before the last day of the March, July or December Board of Review |
|---|
| Clinton Township | Macomb | federal poverty guidelines ($15,060 for 1 person in the 2025 policy; 2026 policy not posted) | cash up to $7,500; all assets up to $20,000 | 100%, 75%, 50% or 25% | 2025: January 1 to December 8, 2025 |
|---|
| Dearborn | Wayne | 100% of federal poverty guidelines ($15,650 for 1 person) | household assets up to $30,000 excluding the home; no other real estate; interest and dividends under $1,250 a year | 50% | file before the day before the last day of the March, July or December Board of Review |
|---|
| Dearborn Heights | Wayne | 120% of federal poverty guidelines ($18,780 for 1 person) | assets up to $30,000 | 50% | 2026: by March 1, July 1 or December 1 |
|---|
| Detroit | Wayne | not verified: the city's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page | not verified: the city's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page | not verified: the city's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page | not verified: the city's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page |
|---|
| Farmington Hills | Oakland | $37,560 for 1 person, $44,460 for 2 (top of 25% band) | liquid assets up to 10 times the yearly property tax; all assets up to 5 times yearly household income | 100% up to $19,565, 50% up to $26,640, 25% up to $37,560 (1 person) | 2026: March 1, July 14 or December 4 |
|---|
| Flint | Genesee | 200% of federal poverty guidelines ($31,300 for 1 person) | cash up to one month's household income; other assets up to $15,000 (home and one car excluded) | 50% | July or December Board of Review only; 2026: by July 17 or December 11 |
|---|
| Grand Rapids | Kent | 100% of federal poverty guidelines ($15,650 for 1 person, +$5,500 each extra person) | household assets up to $9,642 (cars, furniture, appliances, accounts, pensions count) | not stated in the posted guidelines | file before the day before the last day of the March, July or December Board of Review |
|---|
| Kalamazoo | Kalamazoo | not verified: the city's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page | not verified: the city's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page | not verified: the city's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page | not verified: the city's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page |
|---|
| Lansing | Ingham | guidelines not posted online; ask the assessor | guidelines not posted online; ask the assessor | guidelines not posted online; ask the assessor | guidelines not posted online; ask the assessor |
|---|
| Livonia | Wayne | $22,302 for 1 person, $45,814 for 4 (city threshold) | assets over $25,000 (other than home, car and household goods) are added to income; interest/dividend income over $2,000 disqualifies; no other real estate | 100%, 75%, 50% or 25% | file before the day before the last day of the March, July or December Board of Review |
|---|
| Macomb Township | Macomb | 135% of federal poverty guidelines ($21,127 for 1 person, +$7,425 each extra person) | cash up to $7,500; all assets up to $20,000 | 100%, 75%, 50% or 25% by income band | file before the day before the last day of the March, July or December Board of Review |
|---|
| Novi | Oakland | 2 times the federal poverty guidelines ($31,300 for 1 person) | liquid assets up to 2 times the estimated tax; total assets up to 10 times the estimated tax | 100%, 50% or 25% | file before the day before the last day of the March, July or December Board of Review |
|---|
| Rochester Hills | Oakland | federal poverty guidelines used as a guide ($15,640 for 1 person as posted, likely a typo for $15,650); taxes must exceed 3.2% of income after the state homestead credit | household assets up to $21,397 (2026), home, household goods and a reasonable car excluded | 100%, 75%, 50% or 25% | 2026: by June 30 (July board) or November 20 (December board) |
|---|
| Shelby Township | Macomb | not verified: the township's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page | not verified: the township's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page | not verified: the township's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page | not verified: the township's site blocks automated checks - see the linked page |
|---|
| Southfield | Oakland | federal poverty guidelines plus 20% ($18,780 for 1 person), plus verified household medical expenses | household assets up to $35,000, not counting the home and primary vehicles | 100% | file before the day before the last day of the March, July or December Board of Review |
|---|
| Sterling Heights | Macomb | 100% of federal poverty guidelines ($15,650 for 1 person) | savings, investments and other real estate up to $8,508; no car bought or leased worth over $20,000; recreational vehicles up to $4,254 | 50% | file before the day before the last day of the March, July or December Board of Review |
|---|
| Taylor | Wayne | federal poverty guidelines plus 20% ($18,780 for 1 person) | up to $10,000 per person, $20,000 per household, excluding the home | 50% | 2026: by March 1, July 1 or December 1 |
|---|
| Troy | Oakland | federal poverty guidelines (January 2024 council memo, over 2 years old: $14,580 for 1 person) | total asset limit set yearly by City Council (amount not in the posted guidelines) | not stated in the posted guidelines | not stated in the posted guidelines |
|---|
| Warren | Macomb | 100% of federal poverty guidelines ($15,650 for 1 person) | liquid assets up to $7,500; fixed assets (cars, RVs, boats etc.) up to $35,000 | 100% if income up to $12,519 (1 person), 50% from $12,520 to $15,650 | 2026: by March 16, July 20 or December 14 |
|---|
| Waterford Township | Oakland | up to 175% of federal poverty guidelines ($27,388 for 1 person) | assets up to $25,000 for 1 person, $35,000 for 2 or more (home and one car excluded) | 100% up to $15,650, 75% up to $19,563, 50% up to $23,475, 25% up to $27,388 (1 person) | file before the day before the last day of the March, July or December Board of Review |
|---|
| West Bloomfield Township | Oakland | guidelines not posted online; ask the assessor | guidelines not posted online; ask the assessor | guidelines not posted online; ask the assessor | heard by the March, July and December Board of Review |
|---|
| Westland | Wayne | 100% of federal poverty guidelines ($15,650 for 1 person) | bank and investment accounts up to $10,000 per person; all assets up to $20,000 per household (home excluded); interest income no more than $1,500; no other real estate | 50% | file before the day before the last day of the March, July or December Board of Review |
|---|
| Wyoming | Kent | 100% of federal poverty guidelines ($15,650 for 1 person) | assets up to $3,141 for the applicant and $7,538 for the household | not stated in the posted guidelines | 2026: by February 26, July 13 or December 7 |
|---|